Art Historian Griselda Pollock Wins 2020 Holberg Prize - The Feminist Art Project
Skip to main content

Art Historian Griselda Pollock Wins 2020 Holberg Prize



n/a, Norway



Phone Number






Art historian Griselda Pollock has been named this year’s recipient of the $650,000 Holberg Prize. Launched by the Norwegian parliament in 2003, the annual award is one of the largest international prizes bestowed on researchers in the humanities, social sciences, law, and theology. A professor of social and critical histories of art at the University of Leeds in England, Pollock will be presented with the prize at a ceremony at Norway’s University of Bergen on June 4. Known for her academic work on feminist, social, queer, and postcolonial interventions in the histories of art and cultural studies, Pollock is credited with helping to establish feminist art history as an academic field in the 1970s. To date, Pollock has published twenty-two monographs, four of which are forthcoming; edited twenty books; and published hundreds of scholarly articles.

Event Type

Award received

Griselda Pollock. Photo: University of Leeds, England.