Anonymous Was A Woman Award 2021 - The Feminist Art Project
Skip to main content

Anonymous Was A Woman Award 2021






Phone Number





November 9, 2021— Anonymous Was A Woman (AWAW) today announced the recipients of its 2021 awards, which recognize 14 women-identifying artists over 40 years of age who have made significant contributions, while continuing to create new work, and who are each at a critical juncture in their practice. Each recipient receives an unrestricted award of $25,000.
While AWAW typically recognizes ten artists per year, donations from two generous supporters have enabled the organization to recognize four additional artists per year in 2021, 2022, and 2023. Three additional awards per year are made possible by the Meraki Artist Award, a new initiative funded by a Boston-based philanthropist who wishes to remain anonymous at this time; one additional award is made possible by an anonymous donor. Until now, the funding for AWAW has come solely from Susan Unterberg, the founder of Anonymous Was A Woman, who herself was “anonymous” until 2018, when she revealed her identity in order to become a more vocal champion of women artists. Anonymous Was A Woman has awarded nearly $6.5 million to 265 artists since 1996.

The 2021 award recipients are:
Nanette Carter, 67
Oletha DeVane, 70
Adama Delphine Fawundu, 50
Anita Fields, 70
Coco Fusco, 61
Renée Green, 61
Judithe Hernández, 73
Suzanne Jackson, 77
Autumn Knight, 41
Adia Millett, 46
Anna Sew Hoy, 45
Julie Tolentino, 56
Dyani White Hawk, 44
Marian Zazeela, 81

For more information on Anonymous Was A Woman and the artists, please visit or

Event Type


Anna Sew Hoy, Somebody’s Head